Living with Hows.

What Have We Been Doing:

For our innovation project, my group decided to do a sort of a DIY page, where we can take things that are around the house and create different things from them. Our original idea was making toys for younger kids, but that idea sort of went down the drain as we found ourselves making more and more things that are for the office or for the home. It  was pretty exciting just researching a lot of the pretty things that we could recreate with just a little bit of time and effort! 

Without Struggles, There Cannot Be Success.

Oh gosh. The struggles continue. Our initial bump in the road was simply coming up with the time to meet up and get some real work done. We had gotten a lot of our virtual research done, but the execution was still lacking. When we finally met up, I noticed that we got sidetracked quite often with the minor details, taking our attention from our main project. Once one person finished a project though, our motivation kicked into gear, and we actually finished two more projects in the same day. Now, I’m not too sure about my group members at this point, but as for my own individual projects, I have worked on one, but I’ve also laid aside the rest, somehow always pushing back and saying that I’ll do it later. Of course, I have my ideas (a lot of which have to do with dorm decorating because of my excitement levels for college), but I have to make time to really execute them if I want our project to be a success.

My Proudest Project

I actually made these photo holders for Christmas presents because I was inspired by one of my favorite Youtubers, missglamorazzi, when she made a snowflake brush holder using a candle jar. Since I don’t have a lot of brushes, and not all my friends (especially the guys) wear make-up, I decided to put a twist on her DIY and turn it into a photo holder to capture some of my favorite moments with each person. The picture below is one of the pictures Jonathan actually created so that we could post it on our Tumblr page to get our projects out to the world!

Image

The Next Step.

In the next of my unofficial “College Decoration” series, I have decided to do a customized glitter name canvas so that everyone can hang it above their dorm beds or the rooms at home! I made one for my friend Vivian for her birthday last month, so I plan on doing a step-by-step tutorial on how to accomplish that look in the neatest and most efficient way. The picture below is the pre-made one that I had completed for my friend!

Image

The Steps to Success.

1. Get together and work with a group of friends. Honestly, even though the first ten minutes, or even hour, may feel like a complete waste of time where you guys are just chatting, once you get in the groove of working, it helps to have other people around to keep you sane.

2. Don’t overthink it. If you have an idea, briefly go through the steps in your head, then execute. The more you overthink things, the more of a headache you’ll end up getting, and it takes out all of the fun in the project.

3. HAVE FUN! Don’t go through with a project that you know you won’t enjoy, because the chances are that you won’t even complete the project if you don’t have a passion for it!

If you want to check up on our progress, go ahead and check out our Tumblr page:

http://livehow.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

